Want to ask a question? Click here

In North Carolina what is the most a gas station can charge over cost for a gallon of gas?

Amanda Lisk
StarNews

In addition to a minimal, (less than $.10 per gallon) profit for the gas stations, state and federal gas tax is added to all fuel purchases.

Federal gas tax is 18.4 cents per gallon, and state gas taxes vary. In North Carolina through the end of December 2016, the state gas tax is 34 cents. Add that to the federal tax and you’ve got around 53 cents in taxes per gallon for North Carolina. (The lowest state gas tax is in South Carolina at just 16.7 cents. Pennsylvania has the highest at 51.4 cents.)

North Carolina also has a price gouging law in effect that prohibits gas stations from charging too much for gas during a time of crisis. For more on the price gouging law visit, http://www.ncdoj.gov/Consumer/Disasters-(1)/Price-Gouging.aspx

For more on North Carolina’s state gas tax, visit https://www.ncdot.gov/about/finance/

Here’s a listing of state regular and diesel gas taxes per state, in cents:

STATE Regular Diesel
Alabama 20.91 21.89
Alaska 12.25 12.75
Arizona 19.00 27.00
Arkansas 21.80 22.80
California 38.57 38.69
Colorado 22.00 20.50
Connecticut 38.30 41.70
Delaware 23.00 22.00
District of Columbia 23.50 23.50
Florida 36.58 33.77
Georgia 31.17 34.82
Hawaii 43.00 40.74
Idaho 33.00 33.00
Illinois 33.45 34.57
Indiana 32.07 40.38
Iowa 31.70 33.50
Kansas 24.03 26.03
Kentucky 26.00 23.00
Louisiana 20.01 20.01
Maine 30.01 31.21
Maryland 33.50 34.25
Massachusetts 26.54 26.54
Michigan 33.26 28.99
Minnesota 28.60 28.60
Mississippi 18.79 18.40
Missouri 17.30 17.30
Montana 27.75 28.50
Nebraska 26.70 27.10
Nevada 33.86 28.56
New Hampshire 23.825 23.825
New Jersey 37.50 41.50
New Mexico 18.88 22.88
New York 43.40 42.90
North Carolina 34.25 34.25
North Dakota 23.00 23.00
Ohio 28.00 28.00
Oklahoma 17.00 14.00
Oregon 31.12 30.36
Pennsylvania 51.40 65.10
Rhode Island 34.00 34.00
South Carolina 16.75 16.75
South Dakota 30.00 30.00
Tennessee 21.40 18.40
Texas 20.00 20.00
Utah 29.41 29.41
Vermont 30.46 32.00
Virginia 22.39 26.08
Washington 49.40 49.40
West Virginia 33.20 33.20
Wisconsin 32.90 32.90
Wyoming 24.00 24.00

 

User-contributed question by:
Anonymous

Got a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Click here to let us know!


Bookmark and Share

X
Ask a question
X

Ask a question

If you’re looking for answers about living in coastal North Carolina, you’ve come to the right place. If we don’t have the answer to your question, we’ll find out or try to find someone who does. Hey, that’s our job! So, ask your question below and we’ll do our best to find the answer. Once we do, we’ll post it in an appropriate category.





Can we use your name to credit you by name (no e-mail or other contact information) with this question when we post an answer?
Yes
Your question:

Post a comment
X

Talk to us!

Have a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Use this form to let us know. Note that all comments are moderated and must be approved before they are posted, although you may see your own comments the first time you post them.





Your comment: