While the term “scooter” can refer to a moped or motorcycle, the answer for both of these as well as all other vehicles is yes, you can be arrested for driving while impaired during operation of them. Bicycles and lawn mowers are also considered vehicles in this state.
So, what is the difference between a moped and a motorcycle? North Carolina law defines mopeds as having engines with less than 50-cubic-centimeter piston displacement and top speeds not exceeding 30 mph on a level surface. Moped drivers don’t need a license, insurance or registration, and they must be 16, wear a motorcycle helmet and follow the rules of the road.
Scooter drivers traveling faster than 30 mph are considered to be riding a motorcycle and face tougher state requirements. They must have a special North Carolina driver’s license, endorsed for motorcycles, and they must register their vehicles and have insurance.
Date posted: June 10, 2009
User-contributed question by: