Want to ask a question? Click here

When do the changes to N.C. emissions testing requirements take effect?

Fewer than two dozen North Carolina counties will be required to conduct vehicle emissions testing, starting this fall.

The move will allow roughly 2 million North Carolinians to discontinue testing the emissions from their cars, saving them $16.40 per inspection. All drivers still have to pay for the statewide annual safety inspection of $13.60 per vehicle.

Prior to the law, 48 of North Carolina’s 100 counties required emissions testing. The new law, which knocks 26 counties off that list, takes effect Oct. 1, 2017, or 60 days after EPA approval, whichever comes later.

Largely urban centers as well as some of their surrounding suburban counties will still require emissions inspections.

Those include Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, New Hanover, Onslow, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Union and Wake counties.

— The Associated Press

User-contributed question by:
Jack Franks

Got a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Click here to let us know!


Bookmark and Share

X
Ask a question
X

Ask a question

If you’re looking for answers about living in coastal North Carolina, you’ve come to the right place. If we don’t have the answer to your question, we’ll find out or try to find someone who does. Hey, that’s our job! So, ask your question below and we’ll do our best to find the answer. Once we do, we’ll post it in an appropriate category.





Can we use your name to credit you by name (no e-mail or other contact information) with this question when we post an answer?
Yes
Your question:

Post a comment
X

Talk to us!

Have a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Use this form to let us know. Note that all comments are moderated and must be approved before they are posted, although you may see your own comments the first time you post them.





Your comment: