Want to ask a question? Click here

When riding a bicycle at night will I get in trouble with the law if I have no lights?

F.T. Norton
StarNews

Halifax Media file photo.

You could. When riding after dark, every bicycle must be equipped with proper lighting equipment, according to North Carolina law.

The front of the bicycle must have a lighted lamp that is visible from a distance of at least 300 feet.

The rear should have a red reflex mirror or lamp that is visible from a distance of at least 200 feet.

Lights are required during the period from sunset to sunrise and when there is insufficient light to see 400 feet ahead.

A violation could cost you more than $200 in fines and court fees.

RELATED LINKS:

How bicycle friendly is Wilmington?

What is the ‘Kerr Avenue bicycle facility’ that is in the city budget?

User-contributed question by:
Nanccy

Got a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Click here to let us know!


Bookmark and Share

X
Ask a question
X

Ask a question

If you’re looking for answers about living in coastal North Carolina, you’ve come to the right place. If we don’t have the answer to your question, we’ll find out or try to find someone who does. Hey, that’s our job! So, ask your question below and we’ll do our best to find the answer. Once we do, we’ll post it in an appropriate category.





Can we use your name to credit you by name (no e-mail or other contact information) with this question when we post an answer?
Yes
Your question:

Post a comment
X

Talk to us!

Have a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Use this form to let us know. Note that all comments are moderated and must be approved before they are posted, although you may see your own comments the first time you post them.





Your comment: