Want to ask a question? Click here

Is there a law requiring a person to register a vehicle within 30 days of moving to N.C.?

New North Carolina residents must register their vehicles “at the expiration of the time granted by the reciprocity agreement between North Carolina and your prior state of residence (usually 30 days) or when gainful employment is accepted, whichever occurs first,” according to the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles website.

That means the time a person has to register his or her vehicle can vary from state to state, and depends on whether that person has a job or not, said N.C. DMV spokeswoman Marge Howell.

“Most states it is within 30 days of moving to North Carolina,” she said. “Some states are 60 days, and there are one or two that are as much as a year.”

New residents must have their state driver’s license or ID card to register their vehicles.

So whose job is it to enforce valid registrations? Not the DMV’s, Howell said.

She said it is up to local law enforcement to enforce the law.

“They can run the plates and see whether you need to be cited,” she said.

Howell said the DMV wants people to become a member of the community as soon as they can.

“We would hope they would want to go ahead and get their car registered,” she said. “If you’re moving here from out of state, you have some time to do that depending on where you’re coming from. We do encourage you to go ahead and do that as early as you can.”

For more information on vehicle registration from the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, go to www.ncdot.org/dmv/.

User-contributed question by:
Anonymous

Got a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Click here to let us know!


Bookmark and Share

One Response to “ Is there a law requiring a person to register a vehicle within 30 days of moving to N.C.?”

  1. On April 10, 2013 at 9:46 pm Steve Zandy wrote:

    What was left out in the answer is all the personal property tax that is being lost.

    All these SC plates in NH, Pender, and Brunswick. They live here but don’t want to pay what they are suppose to pay.



X
Ask a question
X

Ask a question

If you’re looking for answers about living in coastal North Carolina, you’ve come to the right place. If we don’t have the answer to your question, we’ll find out or try to find someone who does. Hey, that’s our job! So, ask your question below and we’ll do our best to find the answer. Once we do, we’ll post it in an appropriate category.





Can we use your name to credit you by name (no e-mail or other contact information) with this question when we post an answer?
Yes
Your question:

Post a comment
X

Talk to us!

Have a comment about this post or know more about the answer? Use this form to let us know. Note that all comments are moderated and must be approved before they are posted, although you may see your own comments the first time you post them.





Your comment: